Sled Reviews - Snow Tube Reviews - Toboggan Reviews
Welcome to the very popular snow sleds (and more) reviews brought to you by SledRiding.com!

(ATTN: FIRST TIME VISITORS: PLEASE BE PATIENT WHILE THIS PACKED PAGE LOADS.)
GOT A TREE? IF SO, VISIT EXTREMESWINGS.COM FOR EXTREME SWINGING FUN!




Help Support Our Database Project ...       ... And Get Noticed!   ( Benefactors )






HOME // STORE


LOOKING FOR THE BEST "TOWABLE" SNOW TUBES?
THEN GET GOOD ONES HERE and HERE.






Review Date: Feb. 23, 2014

Type: Joan of Arctic Snow Boots

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:




BUY JOAN OF ARCTIC SNOW BOOTS HERE (or Sorel Tofino here.)

Most Popular "Womens" Snow Boots


#1 Selling Womens Snow Boots!! When it comes to snow boots for the ladies, women want it all! They want style, warmth, quality and practicality. That is why the Sorel Joan of Arctic line of snow boots are some of the most sought after boots on the market today by women. Running a close second with a similar look are the Sorel Tofino line of boots. One reviewer says about the Sorel Joan of Arctic boots: "After going back and forth, finally decided to splurge and get these boots. Best decision of my life seeing as we've had one of the worst winters in Chicago. These boots have kept my feet warm and dry which I can't say about my cute fashion boots of the past. Definitely purchase the boot in your standard size." Another review says "I have been looking for a good pair of cute winter boots for years now. I own a few pairs of Uggs, which I like and are comfy - but could never wear in the snow/slush! I go to college in Michigan and always see girls walking around with Sorels. So I started asking my friends about them and everyone basically screamed in my face that I MUST get a pair. These boots are amazing!" Two thumbs up for the ladies!!

ATTENTION MEN AND KIDS!!! Don't feel left out, I didn't forget about you all. As the sledmaster, I personally wear the Sorel Bear line of snow boots when I go sledding which I LOVE! They are some of the best boots that I have EVER owned (next to my personal sloppy weather Official Hoser Style Muck Boots which I also love.) Others rave highly about the Sorel Alpha Trac line of snow boots for extreme play. For the itty bitty children, the Sorel Commander line are high recommended and for the youth the Sorel Flurry line of snow boots are recommended.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Jan. 24, 2014

Type: Rugged Camo Hauling & Riding Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:






BUY CAMO HAULING SLEDS IN OUR STORE HERE

Best "Hauling" Sled


RUGGED CAMO SLED!! This sled can do it all .......... use it for hauling or sled riding! Made of a very rugged polyethylene, this firm sled will soon be your best friend. This is not some flimsy molded sled, but rather a quality made workhorse. Use it for hualing firewood, decoys, traps, feed or transporting that deer during your next hunt. It also doubles as an excellent sled for kids and adults alike (see pic showing rider). The camo image is part of the polyethylene, not some cheap decal overlay, and will blend into your surroundings nicely. So, if you want a top notch multi-purpose sled, then look no further. Check them out in our store here!


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Dates: Jan. 14, 2014 / Sep. 16, 2015

Type: Molson Wide Runner Sleds

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:





BUY MOLSON SLEDS IN OUR STORE HERE

Best "Wide" Runner Sled


New improved model style for the 2014/2015 winter season! The USA made Molson Runner Sled is designed to provide additional capability and durability over the traditional flyer sled. Our sled incorporates aircraft grade aluminum runners and frame components which are low-weight and high-strength in nature. The 2.5" wide runners allow the sleds to be used on a variety of terrain from hard pack to soft powder snow. The runners can be waxed for the specific snow condition, or used as is. The sled is steered by combining runner articulation and skid-steer technique. Skid-steering is the practice of dragging your foot on the side you wish to turn. Hop-steering is also very effective when sledding on groomed runs or hard pack. The main deck of the sled is made from 3 ply vertical grain bamboo; a LEED certified renewable resource. The 1" tubing on the side rails and front tube allow for quick and easy mounting of video cameras such as the Contour and GoPro series. All components of the sled are designed and built to withstand a lifetime of use, however should any parts ever be damaged, they are fully replaceable. Check them out in our store here!


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Dates: Dec. 3rd, 2013 / Sep. 16, 2015

Type: 2015 Hammerhead Pro X Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:




BUY HAMMERHEAD SLEDS IN OUR STORE HERE

Best Visual Appeal Runner Sled


The 2015 Improved Hammerhead Has Arrived! If you look below on this review page we had reviewed this sled back in September, 2009. This years color is COOL BLUE. PLUS, they also improved the carving skis by riveting them to the frame. So no more of the carving skis falling off from the failing clips (as some people had claimed) that used to hold them on. I give the improved color options and riveted to the body skis two thumbs up! Check them out in our store here!


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 24th, 2013

Type: Traditional European Wooden Sleds

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:






BUY EURO SLEDS IN OUR STORE HERE

Best Traditional European Wooden Sleds


Made with true European Beechwood! These classic snow sleds, sold for years all over Europe, are now being introduced into the American market! Come experience the traditional European sledding phenomenon! Whether this snow sled is for you, or a gift for someone special... You will be impressed by the quality and durability of your new sled for years to come! “Tracker” sleds are both sleek and rugged. “Bighorn” sleds, with their distinctive “Ram’s Horn” design, are truly unique! We have updated these classic designs by attaching Steel Glides to the bottom of the Hardwood Runners. This ensures both a faster ride and a much longer life expectancy for your snow sled!

See European Sled Photos - Click Here!


Traditional European Sleds are taller than their U.S. cousins... This means they perform better in deep snow and are more comfortable to ride! Just add our "Pull Sled Backer" and transform your wooden snow sled into a Pull Sled for toddlers! Did you know that in England they call it "Sledging", in France it is "Traineau" or "Luge", in Austria it is "Rodeln", the Swiss say "Toboggan", the Dutch say to "Slee", in Italian it is "Slitta" and in Germany they "Schlitten Farhen"? No matter what language you speak, "Sledding" is FUN! Get a Euro Sled today!.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 9th, 2013

Type: Snow Tube & Sled Paste Wax

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Snow tube and Sled Wax

Sled Wax Comparison

BUY SLED WAX IN OUR STORE HERE

Best Snow Tube & Sled Wax.

AFTER 9 YEARS, IT'S FINALLY HERE! An exclusive SledRiding.com product. Every sledder and snow tuber needs wax. It's a must have to gain speed. By waxing the base of your sled or snow tube you will reduce the friction that your sled has with the snow and increase your speed dramatically. Our exclusive, custom wax was made specifically for sleds and snow tubes to remove the friction factor and can only be found right here to purchase. It's easy to apply: Just unscrew the top, wipe on the wax with the applicator provided within, let it dry to a haze after a few minutes, then buff it off. Each can provides multiple applications and will last most sledders the entire sledding season. Each 60 gram can will easily fit into your pocket if you want to bring it along with you. Works best on snow tube bottoms, fiberglass sled bottoms and plastic sled bottoms. Be unique, Get a can today!.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 1st, 2013

Type: Sleboggan

Snow Conditions: Packed & Semi-Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Sleboggan Sleboggan



BUY A SLEBOGGAN HERE

Best Sled Steering Device

UNIQUE SLED STEERING DEVICE! A "Sleboggan" allows a sleboggoner to control, tow and steer one or more of today's plastic toboggans or sleds. You can even connect a bunch of plastic toboggans together to make a train run. This device is the essential key that you will need to steer you down the run. Each Sleboggan device has a set of 3 runners that grip the snow to allow you to steer your sled. Needless to say, this is a GREAT invention by Bill Herrick. See a video example above. You can view many more Sleboggan videos right here. The Link 1 model weighs a little over 7 lbs. and the Griffin model weighs a little over 5 lbs. They are almost 3' long by 2' wide and made of a combination of wood and fiberglass. Both the Link 1 and the Griffin come with labels and operating instructions. The top of the Griffin model has an epoxy fiber glassed dye sublimated top sheet covering the plywood core for ridgidness and strength. The bottom has three steel runners secured to bottom rails (see Griffin bottom here). The bottom also has three coats of fiberglass resin for additional strength. They are manufactured right here in the USA by Bill Herrick! You can read the history behind the Sleboggan and see Bill with one of his prototype models right here. You can buy a slebbogan right here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Dec. 28th, 2012

Type: Snow Racer - Snow Bike

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Stiga Snow Racer



BUY A STIGA SNOW RACER HERE

Best Performing & Durable Snow Racer

THE BEST SNOW RACER PRODUCT LINE! You might have seen the cool Ski Doo Snow Moto snow racer previously reviewed further down this page. That's a great snow racer for the little ones, but there is a product line by Stiga snow racers that can accomodate all ages (kids to adults). In fact the Stiga KING Snow Racer has a performed great with riders from 150-225 lbs. Stiga builds their snow racers very durable (see video above for proof) and don't publish weight limits. But these have taken a lickin' and keep on kickin'! Oh, that's not a Stiga model pictured above via some major airtime, but you get the idea that Snow Racers are now what's cool, and that photo was too cool not use.

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP





Review Date: Dec. 20th, 2012

Type: Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sleds

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sled Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sled

Now available in a swing version at ExtremeSwings.com

Colorful Fiberglass Saucer Sled Colorful Fiberglass Captain America Saucer Sled
Colorful Fiberglass Batman Saucer Sled

BUY A COLORFUL FIBERGLASS SAUCER SLED IN OUR STORE!

Best, Highest Quality Saucer Sled Ever, PERIOD!

VARIOUS JEWELED FIBERGLASS COLORS! Here is something that you rarely see snow saucer sled wise. It was offered to just family members for the last 25 years, but this year, 2012, is the first winter season the USA fiberglass manufacturer is offering the best saucer sled to the public! Who knew? I was so excited about this product that I personally made the one hour drive to the factory that manufactures these on 20DEC12. I saw the entire process and can testify to a top quality saucer sled. When I showed up, I really didn't know they had more than just the 26" saucer sled. They surprised me by not only showing me a larger 32" saucer sled geared towards larger kids and adults (see my wife pictured sitting in one above), but an AMAZING Captain America 26" saucer sled that can double as a snow toy shield (see photo above). The photo doesn't do it justice. Captain America would be proud to have this sled, OMG! Anyway, these colorful saucer sleds are professionally constructed of hand laid multi layers of fiberglass, much like a boat hull. These are NOT some cheapo plastic saucer sled like you would find at Wally world. When I was at the factory they actually turned one upside down and stood on the saucer. It stayed firm and solid! These are truly indestructable and will last for DECADES. The face has a thick tough layer of clear gel coat that brings out the depth and brilliance of the jewels. Inside is a light gray stone finish. There are nine jeweled colors to choose from and many more on the way, plus endless mixing options. Emerald green, candy apple red, blue, orange and purple to just name a few, but many many color combinations can be made. In fact they mixed some of the royal blue and silver sparkles in a cup and let me tell you, that is a HOT combination. Another HOT combination was a mixture of silver and red in a cup. Pictures can not show their true depth and briliance. They look incredible under the Christmas tree. Just add a bow. The 26" saucer sled weights about 8 lbs. and the 32" saucer sled weighs about 15 lbs. Pictured is the 26" molded model for $99.99 + shipping, and my wife is in the 32" model which will retail soon for around $149,99 + shipping and be available within the next few days at the link above. The 32" model is ranked in my top 3 for the best adult snow sled here. The Captain American 26" sled will retail for around $159.99 and also will be available within the next few days at the link above. Some are made up ready to ship, others can be manufactured and shipped in about 3 days. Don't let the price scare you folks. You are paying for a TOP QUALITY snow saucer sled like no other anywhere in the world. Just look at that super slick, glossy, glass bottom. Can you imaging the speed before adding our exclusive sled wax to this? You'd be like the above video from National Lampoons Christmas Vacation. Well, guess what I did when I got home with my 32" candy apple red one. Yep, I waxed it and ummm, OMG, is this gonna be fun!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Dec. 8th, 2012

Type: Ski Doo Blade Racer - Snow Moto

Snow Conditions: Packed & Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Ski Doo Blade Racer - Snow Moto


BUY A SKI DOO SNOW MOTO HERE

Best Style Snow Racer

THIS NEW MODEL LOOK IS SO HOT! The Ski Doo Snow Moto Blade Racer is one of the best looking snow racers on the entire sled market. Sorry larger adults, but this baby is for "young kids" only up to 150 lbs. If you are a big teen or adult, consider the Stiga KING Snow Racer which has been tested up to 225 lbs. (see review for that further up this page). Any kid would be envious to have one of these on the sledding hill.

NOTE: This Ski Doo sled pictured above is the newer model called the "Blade Racer" which you will find when in stock. This body style is also sold under the Polaris Snow Moto and the Yamaha Nytro which are also nice. I wish I was less than 150 lbs. Hey Ski Doo, make an adult one!

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 27th, 2012

Type: Mental Gear Hats

Snow Conditions: NA

Webmaster's Overall Rating:



wacky mental gear ski snowboards sledding hat

BUY MENTAL GEAR HATS HERE

Best Unique & Wacky Winter Hats

DARE TO BE DIFFERENT! If you are looking to be different, funny, cool or just plain wacky when sledding (or skiing or snowboarding), then mental gear hats are what you need. These popular head gear are sure to turn heads and set you apart from everyone else on the slope. They are very colorful in many different styles and colors, and are quality made. They come in adult and kid sizes too! In addition (parents), if you've ever been to a very crowded sledding hill and had problems locating your kid from all of the sledders, then need not worry. If they are wearing one of these, then they would be very easy to spot!

Another manufacturer of "unique topped" winter hats are Austrian made Eisbar Hats. Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov. 25th, 2012

Type: Snowslider Raptor Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:



Snowslider Raptor Sled


BUY A SNOWSLIDER RAPTOR HERE

A NEW STYLE OF SLED FOR 2012/2013! If you know about the Hammerhead Sled, then this is the same style but with 3 modifications. This cool sled has only 1 front steering ski vice two. The steering handle also doubles as a hand brake (see video). Also, on some models, the front ski folds for easy transport. This puts this Snowslider Raptor snow sled into the "wow that is cool" category! A must have for any snow sled lover. And the price is right.

This body style is also sold under the product line "Ski Doo Motion X Sled" right here. Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Review Date: Nov. 18th, 2012

Type: Bearded Beanie

Snow Conditions: NA

Webmaster's Overall Rating:



Bearded Beanie Winter Face MaskBurly Beard Beanie

BUY A BEARDED BEANIE HERE.

NO BEARD, NO PROBLEM WITH A BEARDED BEANIE! These "bearded beanies" are very unique, cool (yet warm, lol) winter head covers that are custom crocheted by a grandma up in Saskatchewan, Canada. If you want a unique look this winter when you go sled riding, then a bearded beanie is your solution. This is perfect for someone that has everything! One size fits most (22-26").

Another "unique" face mask is the Beardski. Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 17th, 2012

Type: Commercial Snow Tubes

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating: N/A



Snow Tube LotSnow Tube Lot

BUY COMMERCIAL SNOW TUBES IN BULK HERE

Best "buy in bulk" Snow Tube Retailer"

NEW FOR 2012/2013, BUY COMMERCIAL SNOW TUBES IN BULK! When we saw this we knew this was a great deal price wise for those who need multiple commercial snow tubes in bulk. They come in a variety of colors, have the heavy duty innner truck innertube and heavy duty exterior cover like you see at commercial snow tube parks. Maybe you run a snow tubing hill in your area or maybe you have some property with a large hill and are having a lot of people over and want them to have a great time. Either way, this deal is PERFECT for you!

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Wax Review Date: Nov. 15th, 2012

Type: Graphite Snowflake Shaped Wax Bar

Snow Conditions: Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Runner Sled Wax

BUY SNOWFLAKE SHAPED WAX HERE

PERFECT WAX FOR RUNNER SLEDS! If you want speed for your runner sled, then every sledder needs a wax bar in their pocket. And I must say, this little wax bar is not only cool to look at, it is cute (so kids would say)! Your friends will be in awe when they see you waxing your runner snow sled with a snowflake. Not just any snowflake, but one with graphite! It easily fits in your pocket. Take it with you on every trip. Best of all, YOU CAN'T BEAT THE PRICE! Oh, and don't forget, if you have a metal runner sled that has rusted, sand the rust off first with some fine sandpaper until it is shiny, then rub the snowflake on the shiny runners.

If it is a snow tube or hard bottomed sled that you'd like to wax up instead, then our sled wax here would be a better alternative for a vinyl/plastic/fiberglass bottomed sled. Wipe it all over the base with the provided applicator pad in the can, let it dry, and then hand buff it off with a towel. This will make your sled or snow tube like a rocket and it is what I prefer to do to the bottom of my snow tubes above any other type of wax.

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 15th, 2012

Type: 60"+ BIG, HUGE, MONSTER Innertubes

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Monster, Giant Rubber Innertube for Sledding

BUY A SIMILAR MONSTER INNER TUBE HERE

THE KING OF REAL RUBBER INNER TUBES! When it comes to monster rubber innertubes, these tractor inner tubes are the king. At 65"+, these are usually found in large farm equipment tires (i.e. tractors). They are universal year round to be used in a river, lake or on the snowy slopes! They are also made from real rubber, so they can take the abuse. You can pile a bunch of people on one of these.

2013 NOTE: We now sell direct with FREE SHIPPING from our SledRiding.com store
replacement inner tubes for the 44" and 54" covered snow tubes!

Slick up the rubber with some spray PAM cooking oil to increase your snow tube speed. Packed, well traveled, icy snow will generally be a faster run. See a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here.




Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.
Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 9th, 2012

Type: BIG, Quality Snow Tubes

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Clear Creek Commercial Snow Tubes

BUY A CLEAR CREEK SNOW TUBE IN OUR STORE!

Best Affordable Snow Tube Retailer"

COLORS GALORE! Clear Creek Snow Tubes is a home based business manufacturer in Westminster, Colorado looking to sell you a fantastic product! These snow tubes are NOT cheaply made, but have a strong 600 denier polyester canvas top that is both mildew resistant (for better storage) and are UV resistant (for maximum non-fading of colors) with a very thick, very durable, and very heavy weight industrial vinyl bottom. Clear Creek Snow Tubes also sells are large variety of Towable Snow Tubes. They have a large color selection for both boys and girls (men and women ...... you know you want one mom and dad!). For girls that like pink, check out their Girly Girl Snow Tubes Here. See a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here.

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz



BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Dec. 7, 2011

Type: Flexible Flyer 50" Tornado Snow Tube

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Flexible Flyer Tornado Snow Tube

BUY A TORNADO SNOW TUBE HERE!

HOLD ON KRISTEN! This large 50" diameter snow tube has the Flexible Flyer name brand quality. It is great for one or two riders, however this is geared more toward lighter rides (i.e. kids and teens). It also makes a great summer pool tube or river tube. It is made of heavy duty cold-resistant PVC Construction and gives the rider a nice amount of speed. We gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because though it is of good construction for the low price, it isn't nearly as high quality of a snow tube as other vinyl wrapped ones here on this page. However, for 20 something bucks, it is perfect for a season or two of sled riding, and as you can see from the photo, it has proven that it can give a ride to remember. Once again, this is geared toward those less than 200 lbs (or better yet, less than 150 lbs. in my opinion). If you are heavier than 200 lbs. or an adult aggresive snow tuber, then get one of the vinyl wrappred tire tubes on this page.

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Oct. 12, 2010

Type: Zipfy Freestyle Mini Luge

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Zipfy Snow Sled

BUY A ZIPFY HERE

FOR KIDS AGES 6 TO 106! Holding up to 250 lbs., this little, compact, rugged plastic Zipfy (pronounced Zip-Fee) mini luge will provide you endless hours of high speed fun down that next slope without worrying about lugging something heavy back up. You can carve down the slopes simply by leaning into the turn while holding the center handle. To control speed, the rider simply drops his heels and slows the sled's momentum. For a more immediate stop, the rider lifts the handle, leans back and digs the rear of the sled into the ground. Extreme Zipfy riders take on some of the most extreme slopes in the world with on of these, like the Swiss alps as seen in the video here. They come in a large variety of colors, but I must say that the black and white one as pictured above is the most popular and often sold out color. If you are looking for a light weight, affordable, all-age and conditions type of snow sled, then go get yourself a Zipfy mini luge today in our SledRiding.com store!



Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP



Snow Tube Review Date: Nov. 16th, 2009

Type: BIG 44" Commercial Snow Tube (PIMPED)

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Blue Quality Snow TubeBlue Quality Snow Tube
Snow Tube Lights

BUY THE SNOW GLOW POD LIGHTS HERE

GET THE VINYL SNOW TUBES HERE!

Best Quality Snow Tube Retailer

2013 NOTE: We now sell direct with FREE SHIPPING from our SledRiding.com store
replacement inner tubes for these 44" covered snow tubes!

I PIMPED MY TUBE! Thats right! I personally added a couple of upgrades to this awesome blue commercial snow tube from Snow Gear Sales. Snow Gear Sales is the official supplier of the Badlands Snopark in Wisconsin. As you may have seen below from the previous review of that I did in 2008 of their red commercial snow tube, these are the best snow tubes on the market. In fact, the commercial 44" model is ranked number 1 for the best adult snow sled here. What I did with this blue snow tube was add 2 long-life LED lights velcroed to the handles and some acrylic stencilling. The velcro LED lights come in BLUE, RED, and GREEN by Black Jax Sports (see links to buy above). These can be seen up to 2 miles away and will surely make you the talk of that next night time sledding venture! The stencil is a "single use" stencil from JustStencils.com and the font on my tube is Impact. I had them italicize it on special request. I used acrylic white paint, since that was what was recommended for use on vinyl. I applied 3 coats, allowing time to dry in between each application of the paint. You can see this snow tube used in this video that I made here. Also, see a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here.

I also added a foam pad in the center to provide more cushion for the tushy when getting some airtime. With that addition, it is now one of the best adult snow sleds on the market. You can see a photo of the snow tube's foam pad here. I had it custom made at FoamForYou.com. The details on dimensions and type of foam are on the photo. I requested black as the color. It costs a bit over $40 + shipping for the "custom size and angle cut" piece of micro cell, closed cell foam. They did a great job!

Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Sep. 24th, 2009

Type: Hammerhead Sled

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed (depends on skis used)

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Hammerhead SledHammerhead Sled
Hammerhead Sled

Buy a Hammerhead Sled

Best New Technology & Design Runner Sled

IF I COULD GIVE THIS 10 STARS, THEN I WOULD! This is simply the coolest modern sled on the entire planet to date!. To sum it up, it's the Lamborghini of sleds. It's like a redesigned flexible flyer with bling. It is ranked in the top 3 for the best adult snow sled here. The Hammerhead Sled weighs roughly 9.7 lbs., is 51" long end to end and 23" wide. The sled design and cool add-ons will be the talk of the sledding hill I'm sure. As you can see from the photo, I've opted for the headlight, taillight, bell and optional powder skis for my list of accessories on this sled. I doubt you will find much competition at that next sled race that can match this sleds speed and sharp turning radius. The sled is built with an ergonomic design and suspension to give you a ride of a lifetime through the snow. If your 8 or 80, this sled will bring out the child in you. I know that when I received mine I was ALL TEETH, grinning ear to ear! I highly recommend the Hammerhead Sled and vote them as having the 2009/2010 best and coolest sled in the world! Job well done to their R&D design department!

   


Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz

BACK TO TOP




Toboggan Review Date: Feb. 20th, 2009

Type: 7.5' Downhill Wooden Coasting Toboggan

Snow Conditions: Powder & Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Quality Wooden TobogganQuality Wooden Toboggan
Quality Wooden TobogganQuality Wooden Toboggan

Buy This Wooden Coasting Toboggan Here!

Best Quality Wooden Toboggan Retailer

IT'S HUGE & TOP QUALITY! It's so huge, that when my wife opened the door she wondered how her little self was gonna get in without my help (since I was still at work). This coasting toboggan is simply a piece of craftsmanship art by the Northern Toboggan and Sled Company! It weighs roughly 30 lbs., is 7.5" long end to end and 16" wide. The Red Oak construction provides beauty and durability and the Red Oak bottom polishes with time to become very slick. It has a linseed oil finish, the boards steam bent and overall it is built to last for generations!

One of the features of their toboggans is the "slow bend" which is more the original toboggan bend where the boards come up gradually at first until they are well off the ground before they wrap over 180 degrees. This allows the toboggan to climb obstacles more readily rather than ploughing into drifts etc. This Downhill toboggan is a scaled down version of their 12' 3 board dog toboggan which has 7/8" thick boards and is bolted together with laminated cross piecing. This downhill toboggan is made from 13/32" boards but otherwise is made the same way using the same technique. It is quite durable. Also many recreational toboggans are not tapered in the curl, starting approximately where the curl is coming up off the ground a tapering cut is made on the outside edges and narrowing gradually until it reaches the tip of the curl. When a toboggan is used for freighting this is desirable if the sled should tip over with a load. The tapering cuts prevent the curl from being broken by digging into the ground in a spill with a heavy cargo.

I had to take 4 photos rather than the usual 2 for a review due to it's size. This is sure gonna be a crowd pleaser at the big hill! It'll fit the entire family (at least my son, wife and I, lol). Oh, and you can get a cushion to go along with this wooden coasting toboggan to keep your tushy comfy too (not pictured). I highly recommend NTSled.com and their very nice wooden coasting toboggans!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store ere.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Jan. 30th, 2009

Type: 47" Killer B Mad River Rocket

Snow Conditions: Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Mad River Rocket SledMad River Rocket Sled

Buy Mad River Rockets Here!

Get on your knees! That's the motto of the Mad River Rocket Company. This is the black Killer B version of the Mad River Rocket (a knee board for the snow), not to mention the most popular of their sleds. The durable plastic shells are made in the USA of recycled plastic. The center of the black Killer B sled has some pretty cool looking artwork too (see here). We previously reviewed the more expensive Lexan version (see below) with the same dimensions. Both have a weight limit of 250 lbs. On this sled, you can mark your sled on the strap plate using a permanent marker. All of their sleds feature a quick release lap belt and ribbed kneepads that are designed for comfort and performance. The kneeling position allows you to see ahead, lean for balance and control steering. As with the Lexan sled, these are recommended to be used in powder, not packed snow. That is because the negative keel on the underside allows the sled to turn in the powder when the sled glides through the snow. There are a BUNCH of videos here dedicated to this sled. I highly recommend the Mad River Rocket sleds!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Dec. 17th, 2008

Type: 47" Lexan Mad River Rocket

Snow Conditions: Powder

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Lexan Mad River Rocket SledLexan Mad River Rocket Sled

Buy Mad River Rockets Here!

It's called "free sledding" and the Mad River Rocket sled introduced the phenomenon! This is the Lexan version of the Mad River Rocket (a knee board for the snow) and now VERY hard to find for sale. It's a very unique looking sled. It is a clear polycarbonate transparent thermoplastic that has outstanding dimensional and thermal stability. Being optically clear, it provides total luminous transmittance. In other words, it's "see through". It has 2" foam angled, ribbed kneepads, a padded knee strap to strap yourself in for the ride and can carry an individual up to 250 lbs! At only 7 lbs. and 47" long, this sled can be taken and manuevered just about anywhere there's powder! The negative keel on the underside is the key to turning. This type of sled needs powder conditions, so it isn't recommended for use on packed snow or ice. It just won't perform turns like you need. The advantage this sled has over all others is the ability to carve a turn. This is possible because of two features. First, the nylon webbing lap belt and thick foam pads hold the sled comfortably under the sledder, freeing both hands for easy steering, balance and control. And second, an ingenious design that incorporates double hard edged chines to dig into hardpack along a central snow channel to aid the sled in tracking through powder. This Lexan sled is the more expensive version, however the black Killer B sled version is just as good (just not clear) and more affordable. They also make a smaller sled called the Stingray for smaller kids. Buy them in our online store. There are a BUNCH of videos here dedicated to this sled. I highly recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Snow Tube Review Date: Dec. 4th, 2008

Type: BIG 44" Commercial Snow Tube

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Quality Big Snow Tube

Buy this Commercial Snow Tube here!!

2013 NOTE: We now sell direct with FREE SHIPPING from our SledRiding.com store
replacement inner tubes for these 44" covered snow tubes!

Best Quality Snow Tube Retailer

When it comes to the "best snow tubes", this is one that by far tops the list! You can see this snow tube used in this video that I made here (same as below video). This is the BIG 44" Commercial Snow Tube by Snow Gear Sales. Snow Gear Sales is the official supplier of the Badlands Snopark in Wisconsin. Also, see a listing of commercial snow tubing parks here. The 40 ounce vinyl coated bottom offers superior puncture resistance and a ride of a lifetime. It is perfect for rental use, ski area surface lifts, or high use snow tubing. It is also perfect for the common individual who wants a higher quality snow tube for those snowy days. The commercial 44" model is ranked number 1 for the best adult snow sled here. Show up to this sledding hill with this baby and you'll definitely be the talk of the town. Get multiple kids on it for a thrill ride down the hill. I guarantee that with this you'll outrun and outlast any one of those cheapo snow tubes sold at the common department stores! More specification details are that it has a 5' removable, replaceable heavy webbing leash and a 20" (Inner Diameter) recreational rubber inner tube. The 18.5 oz rip stop vinyl tops come in assorted colors. The bottoms are a heavy 40 ounce vinyl coated nylon in the color black. It is constructed with #6 brass grommets and 1" heavy nylon web handles. Also, the cover opening has been double needled with a 2" heavy poly web binding. All tubes are custom made for the customer in your choice of styles and colors. Handle and stress point backing systems are R.F. welded on to eliminate needle holes and thread decay due to abrasion and U.V. rays. So if you want a simply great snow tube ride with a built in "bounce of fun", then get this snow tube. You won't regret it! Extreme speedsters can wax the bottom for a rocket ride. I highly recommend this snow tube and is my favorite sled of choice! See me, the webmaster, in mid-air with one of these awesome tubes in 2009 here and also a video of my son and some others on this tube here. More reviews for this snow tube seller can be found here.

And yes, just like the newer review of the lighted blue snow tube above, I also pimped my red snow tube. See the pic here. For details on the stencil or the lights, see the similar blue snow tube review on Nov. 16th, 2009 above. I also added a foam pad in the center to provide more cushion for the tushy when getting some airtime. You can see a photo of the snow tube's foam pad here. I had it custom made at FoamForYou.com. The details on dimensions and type of foam are on the photo. I requested black as the color. It costs a bit over $40 + shipping for the "custom size and angle cut" piece of micro cell, closed cell foam. They did a great job!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov 24, 2008

Type: 52" Mountain Boy Ultimate Flyer

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Mountain Boy Wood SledMountain Boy Wood Sled

Buy this Ultimate Flyer here!

Best Wooden Sled Craftsmanship Retailer

Move over flexible flyer, you've met your match! This is the 52" Ultimate Flyer by Mountain Boy Sledworks. When I had opened up the box today after receiving this in the mail, my wife and I were amazed by the beautiful wood color and wood craftsmanship put into making this flyer. Unlike the Flexible Flyer reviewed previously below, this Ultimate Flyer can be used in both packed snow and powder snow. It has a unique base that is molded for both types of conditions. Adults and children alike will enjoy flying down those sledding hills with this Ultimate Flyer! Also, the steering is a exceptional with this sled since it will turn almost 90 degrees in each direction (see here). When not in use, this sled will make a nice piece for decoration around the home during the holiday. Click here for a nice little YouTube video on the Mountain Boy Sled. I highly recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov 23, 2008

Type: 60" Flexible Flyer Model #1060

Snow Conditions: Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Flexible Flyer SledFlexible Flyer Sled

Buy a 60" Flexible Flyer here!

This is the 60" Flexible Flyer sled. We had gotten it from True Value Hardware. This is the same sled that I had when I was a little boy. It's metal runners perform extremely well on a hill with packed snow, however it isn't recommended for hills with deep or unpacked snow. The size of this sled will allow for an adult or 2 children to ride on it. If you lay down, you can ride 2 laying on top of each other or you can ride sitting down, using your feet to steer. You can turn each way about 45 degrees. If the conditions are right (packed snow), this sled is extremely fast! To gain that extra momentum after the runners become worn (red paint gone), I recommend sanding the runners with a fine grit sand paper to allow the shiny steel to show evenly. Then, wax the runners with hard candle wax. If and when the runners become rusty, repeat the process with the sand paper and wax. The brownish rust will slow you down. Under the right conditions, this "controllable" sled can be very very fast! For a video example, click here. I highly recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Sled Review Date: Nov 23, 2008

Type: 51" Wham-O Snow Boogie Sled

Snow Conditions: Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Snow Boogie SledSnow Boogie Sled

Buy a similar Wham-o Snow Boogie sled here!

This is the 51" Snow Boogie (Tiger Shark) Wham-O foam sled. We had gotten it from Target. It is made of 1 1/4" heavyy duty cushion foam and the bottom is constructed of a hard durable plastic to give the sled speed. It has 4 handles for 2 children riders or 1 adult rider. If the bottom is waxed, it will even go faster! It performs best in packed snow. Unlike the above Flexible Flyer, you can't steer this, so where you aim it it'll head. However, if you lie down and dangle your feet or hands off, you may be able to give it some turning motion. I recommend this sled!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.

Be sure to visit our sister sites TossingGames.com and OutdoorGames.biz


BACK TO TOP




Toboggan Review Date: Nov 23, 2008

Type: 66" Heavy Duty Plastic Toboggan

Snow Conditions: Powder or Packed

Webmaster's Overall Rating:


Plastic TobogganPlastic Toboggan

This is the 66" heavy duty plastic molded lime green toboggan # 1136 Beast by Emsco. We had gotten it from Target, but it can also be found sometimes on Ebay here. It is made of a very durable hard plastic. Emsco also makes this in a redish orange (# 1138 Beast). It can fit 3 children or 2 adults. It has a nylon rope attached for pulling the sled up the hill or pulling a child in the toboggan. It performs well in both powder and packed snow. If you wax the bottom, it'll gain you some additional speed. The person who sits in the rear is in charge of steering, however they must do so with their hands. By putting pressure down on the right rear side of the ground with your hand, the toboggan will turn slightly right. Vice versa for the left side. This sled performs best by sitting down, but I have seen people try to stand up on it and surf. Please wear a helmet if you do this! Lying down will gain you speed, but you may not be able to fall out if you need to quickly to avoid a collision. I recommend this tobbogan!



Lastly, don't forget to check out the snow toys along with the other sleds and snow tubes in the SledRiding.com store here.


BACK TO TOP





Attention snow sled & snow tube retailers and manufacturers: To have your sled review considered, contact Sledmaster@SledRiding.com

HOME // FORUM // LOCATE A HILL // STORE




About / Advertise / Support / Fireplace / Horse Drawn Sleighs / Locate Hill / Pics (WOW) / Once Upon a Snow / Seasonal Links / Submit Hill


Website Statistics